Former champion Dean Venter (Gulf SA/Dezzo Equipment Swift) has reclaimed the Investchem Formula Ford Kent Championship he won in 2017. Although Venter missed the final round at Red Star Raceway, his performance in the earlier rounds where he finished on the podium in every race, was enough to secure him the 2019 title.

Business commitments prevented Jonathan Nash (Turnfab Engineering Swift) from competing at all the rounds, but he was always at the front when he was able to race, taking three race wins on his way to second in the championship standings. Dalan Holton (Debella Finance van Diemen) was another whose activity was restricted by business commitments, but a full house of points at the final round where he took both heat wins, moved him up to third in the championship standings.

Dalan Holton

Dalan Holton claimed both heat wins at the final round
Image by Paul Bedford – Action Images

After Holton’s double win at the final round, 2018 champion David Jermy had to settle for fourth in the standings, just a single point adrift. Consistent points-scoring finishes in the early round were enough to give Paul Gerber (Pablo Clark Racing Ray) fifth place ahead of former champion Andrew Horne (Xena Chemicals van Diemen), whose appearances were limited by business and endurance racing commitments.

James Reeves (Ray) was plagued by mechanical problems but managed to accumulate enough points to end the season in seventh, just ahead of Steve Venter in the second Gulf SA/Dezzo Equipment Swift.

The 2020 Investchem Formula Ford Kent Championship is scheduled to get underway Zwartkops Raceway on Saturday, 1 February.