Andrew Horne in action at the opening round

Andrew Horne in action at the opening round

Defending champion Graham Hepburn has won every Investchem Formula Ford Kent race that he has competed in at Kyalami since July last year and will be looking to continue his run of good form on Saturday, 2 May at the second round of the 2015 championship. He will be lining up on the grid, together with the rest of the Formula Ford Kent competitors, for the final time with the circuit in its current form – the Midas Historic Tour event this weekend it the final race meeting before the circuit closes while it is revamped.

The rest of the field will not let Hepburn have things all his own way. Andrew Horne (Xena Chemicals / Budd Power Royale), who set the fastest lap in qualifying last time out, and former champion Ian Schofield (Investchem Mygale), who came away with the fastest race lap of the day, have both shown the pace that will allow them to take the fight to Hepburn.

David Jermy (Matt Nash Motorsport Van Diemen) is another who has the pace to challenge Hepburn. In the first race at the opening round he worked his way through the field from the back of the grid to third place by the time the chequered flag came out but a disappointing second race sees him down in sixth place in the title race. Matt Nash had two top-six finishes in the opening round and is in fourth place on the championship log with Dean Venter (Manetou Group Swift) a couple of points behind.

Mattys Strydom (Sage ERP Africa Talon) is in seventh place in the championship, considerably lower than he would like after an off-track excursion in the second race at the opening round saw his car buried in the kitty litter on the opening lap. He will be looking for two good results to move him up the log.

Qualifying gets underway at 08h40 with the first of the two eight-lap races scheduled to begin at 11h30. The lights should go out to signal the start of the second race at 15h00.