The penultimate round of the 2016 Investchem Formula Ford Kent championship takes place at Zwartkops Raceway on Saturday, 8 October. When the series was last at Zwartkops, back at the beginning of April, Dean Venter (Turnfab Engineering / Manitou Group Swift) had a day to forget, leaving the circuit without scoring a point. Since then he has won five of the eight races held and is realistically the only person who can prevent Andrew Horne (Xena Chemicals / Budd Power Royale RP31) retaining his title.

Horne has a 17-point advantage over Venter and, while there is a maximum of 22 points available at each of the final two rounds, it is going to be difficult for Venter to catch the defending champion if he maintains the consistency that has seen him finish on the podium in all but two of the season’s 12 races.

David Jermy (Matt Nash Motorsport Van Diemen) has banked a couple of wins and is in third place on the log, 15 points behind Venter. Former champion Ian Schofield (Investchem Mygale) has missed a couple of events this year due to business commitments but he remains fourth in the championship race and should be close to the head of the field at Zwartkops.

The next four drivers on the log are separated by just 10 points. Jeff Gable (Taylon Motorsport Van Diemen) leads the way from Dalan Holton (Debella Finance van Diemen) with Andy Schofield (Investchem Reynard) and Allen Meyer (Van Diemen) in hot pursuit.

Sixteen cars are scheduled to line up on the grid and the only thing that is certain is that there will be some great single-seater racing on display.

As is normally the case, practice sessions will take place on Friday with qualifying and both races happening on Saturday. The 10-minute qualifying is scheduled for 08h15 on Saturday morning with the first of the two 10-lap races on the program at 11h20. The red lights should go out to signal the start of race 2 at 15h10.