Championship leader Andrew Horne

Championship leader Andrew Horne

After a two-month winter break the Investchem Formula Ford Kent drivers return to the track on Saturday, 19 September when the fifth round of the 2015 championship takes place at Zwartkops Raceway.

The last event, at the beginning of July at Phakisa Freeway, marked the mid-point of the championship race. While Andrew Horne (Xena Chemicals / Budd Power Royale) couldn’t manage a race win in the Free State, they went to Ian Schofield (Investchem Mygale) and Graham Hepburn (Suburban Body Shop Ray), his two second places allowed him to extend his championship lead to 18 points over defending champion Hepburn. Schofield is a further nine points back in third.

Matthys Strydom (Sage ERP Africa Talon) will be looking to bounce back from a disappointing outing at Phakisa. He qualified sixth but a suspension failure late in the session saw him on the side lines for the rest of the day. He is in fourth on the log, just three points ahead of Jeff Gable in the Taylon Motorsport Van Diemen.

Just four points separate the next five drivers on the log. David Jermy (Matt Nash Motorsport Van Diemen), Allen Meyer (Van Diemen), Dean Venter (Manitou Group Swift), Dalan Holton (Copper Lake Breweries) and Joe Nash (Swift) have all shown that they have the speed to run close to the leaders this season and any one of them could challenge the front runners on their day.

Qualifying gets underway at 08h30 with the first of the two 10-lap races scheduled to begin at 11h30. The cars should be out on track for the second race at 15h10.