Ian Schofield leads Andrew Horne

Ian Schofield leads Andrew Horne

The Investchem Formula Ford Kent drivers will make their second visit to the Free State when the penultimate round of the 2015 championship takes place at Phakisa Freeway on Saturday, 10 October.

At the last visit to Phakisa, back in July, the race wins went to Ian Schofield (Investchem Mygale) and Graham Hepburn (Suburban Body Shop Ray) but Andrew Horne (Xena Chemicals / Budd Power Royale) came away with an increased lead in the championship after securing two second places.

Since then he has extended his lead with a double victory at the last event at Zwarkops Raceway in September. Horne now needs just 11 points to secure the 2015 title. A couple of third places or even a third and fourth place will see him leave the Free State as the new champion.

While Horne will almost certainly claim the 2015 title, the race for the runners-up spot is far from over. Schofield, with 57 points, holds the advantage at the moment but defending champion, Hepburn, is just five points in arrears. Matthys Strydom (Sage ERP Africa Talon) is a further six points back. Strydom will be hoping the bad luck that struck on his last visit to Phakisa, his suspension broke during qualifying putting him out for the day, stays away this time.

Jeff Gable (Taylon Motorsport Van Diemen) is next up on the championship log ahead of David Jermy (Matt Nash Motorsport Van Diemen) and Dalan Holton (Copper Lake Breweries) who had his best outing of the season at Zwartkops. Dean Venter (Manitou Group Swift) rounds out the top eight.

Qualifying gets underway at 08h50 with the first of the two 8-lap races scheduled to begin at 11h15. The second race should get underway at 14h30.