The Formula Ford Kent pack in action at Kyalami

The Formula Ford Kent pack in action at Kyalami

Andrew Horne (Xena Chemicals / Budd Power Royale) took full advantage of the absence of defending champion Graham Hepburn (Suburban Body Shop Ray) at the last outing at Kyalami to take both heat wins and move into the lead of the 2015 Investchem Formula Ford Kent championship race. Hepburn will be back and looking to get the defence of his title back on track when the Midas Historic Tour makes its way to Zwartkops Raceway on Saturday, 6 June.

Matthys Strydom (Sage ERP Africa Talon) is just a point behind Hepburn in the title race and will be looking to build on the success he had at the last round after a somewhat disappointing performance in the season opener.

Jeff Gable (Taylon Motorsport Van Diemen) also had a good outing at the second round and is currently fifth on the championship log. Last season David Jermy (Matt Nash Motorsport Van Diemen) had a great result at Zwartkops and will be looking to repeat the feat this weekend.

Business commitments have kept Ian Schofield’s name off the entry list so those fighting for a win will have one less rival to worry about.

The drivers will make their way out on to the circuit for qualifying gets underway at 09h10 with the first of the two 10-lap races scheduled to begin at 12h25. The second race should begin at 16h15.