Andrew Horne (Xena Chemicals / Budd Power van Diemen) will be looking to build on his perfect start to the season when he heads to Zwartkops Raceway for the second round of the 2018 Investchem Formula Ford Kent Championship on Saturday, 7 April.

Red Star Raceway hosted the opening round of the championship and Horne couldn’t have asked for a better start to his quest for another championship. He took two comfortable wins from pole position to take an early lead in the title race. David Jermy (Lime Chilli Consulting van Diemen) was his closest rival and will certainly be looking to close the gap at Zwartkops. Alex Vos (Ecurie Zoo Swift) and Jeff Gable (Jacquet Racing van Diemen) shared the third-place finishes at the opening round and have equal points in third place on the championship log.

Jonathan Nash (Turnfab Engineering Swift), defending champion Dean Venter (TEU Southern Africa Swift) and Paul Gerber (Pablo Clark Racing Ray) are tied in fifth place in the title race. All of them, but Venter in particular, will be out to claim as many points as possible at the 2.4km Pretoria circuit. Allen Meyer (van Diemen), Dalan Holton (Debella Finance van Diemen) – whose opening round was one to forget – and Graham Hepburn (Suburban Body Shop van Diemen) have all shown that they are capable of running at the head of the field and will be out to grab as many points as possible.

As is normally the case, Friday will be dedicated to practice sessions before things start getting serious on Saturday morning when the 10-minute qualifying session starts at 09h05. The first of the day’s two 10-lap races is scheduled to begin at 12h45 with the second race getting underway at 17h05.