Jonathan Nash (Turnfab Engineering Swift) and Dean Venter (TEU Southern Africa Swift) were the pick of the field at the opening round of the 2019 Investchem Formula Ford Kent championship at the opening round last month, but are unlikely to have things all their own way at round 2, which takes place at Zwartkops Raceway on Saturday, 18 May.

The pair shared the wins in the Free State but will have a couple of drivers who missed the opening round challenging them for the top spot on the podium. 2018 champion David Jermy (Beauty Factory van Diemen) will be out to score as many points as possible as he tries to retain his title, while former champion Matthys Strydom (Talon) will make a welcome return to the series after a couple of seasons on the sidelines.

Dalan Holton (Debella Finance van Diemen) claimed two podium finishes at the opening round and will be looking for a few more at Zwartkops. Paul Gerber (Pablo Clark Ray) lies in fourth in the championship standings. He has regularly run close to the top of the field at Zwartkops, which suits his car better than Phakisa, so will be looking for another good points haul. Steve Venter (TEU Southern Africa Swift) is a couple of points behind Gerber in fifth with James Reeves (Ray), who had to overcome mechanical issues in the Free State, another two points back in sixth. Allen Meyer (van Diemen) should also be out on track at Zwartkops.

After Friday’s practice sessions, the drivers will head out for qualifying at 07h45 on Saturday morning before tackling two 10-lap races. The first of those is scheduled to start at 10h25 with the second at 14h10.