The South African Single-Seaters saw the national Formula Ford field tackle their final round of the season at Zwartkops Raceway on Saturday. The championship favourite for the season, Robert Wolk (41 – Chemical Logistics Mygale) ensured he did exactly what was necessary in order to claim the national title for 2015 – making it his sixth national single-seater title.

Heading into the final event, Wolk had a 17-point cushion after the previous seven rounds. With 10 points per race win available and two races on the day, it was a big ask for Julian van der Watt (42 – Investchem) to try and close that gap in a single event, but he tried hard.

Van der Watt qualified second only to Dewald Brummer (11 – MAD Racing / Ango Truck), finished third in race one behind Brummer and Keagan Masters (44 – Performance Masters), but got involved in a late race two tangle that saw Van der Watt, Bevan Williams (36 – Rightway Auto Electrical) and Wolk all land in the tyres before the final turn.

For Brummer the final race day was a dream event, with qualifying and both race victories his to claim for a first place finish overall on the weekend. In the second race Masters claimed second with Nicholas van Weely (87 – Magnificent Paints & Hardware) in third spot.

Overall the results for the day were the same with Brummer up top, followed by Masters and Van Weely.

The national championship title after this round was won by Wolk with Van der Watt taking second for 2015 and Masters rounding out the tImproved driver for the series is Alex Gillespie with Masters named the Rookie of the Year. The Team of the Year title was taken by Racing Factors.

In addition to the national championship, the South African Single-Seaters also run an internal championship for competitors over 50 and the lady racers in the field. In this category, Rick Morris was the winning racer with Ian Schofield in second and Allen Meyer taking third.