Dewald Brummer (4 – MAD Racing / Ango Trucks / Fuchs Oils) used the qualifying session at Zwartkops Raceway to clinch the Investchem Formula Ford championship title. Just a single point – that for the fastest qualifying time – was all he needed on the final race weekend.

That makes Brummer the 2016 national Investchem Formula Ford champion with Julian van der Watt (42 – Race Driver SA) second and Dean Venter (77 – Turnfab Engineering / Manitou Group) taking third for the season.

Eight rounds of intense national single-seater racing finished at Zwartkops Raceway on Saturday with the season finale that proved a real test for the Investchem Formula Ford field.

The weather played a big role on Friday with practice sessions varying between dry and soaking wet conditions, which certainly played into the thinking for race day strategy amongst the competitors.

Brummer was the fastest man in qualifying with Van der Watt close on his heels. So close, in fact, that the pair produced fastest qualifying laps separated by just 0.015 of a second. The top six qualifiers were separated by just a single second, that’s how intense the battle has been this year.

Van der Watt managed to best Brummer in that first race, with Venter finishing third but the second race saw Venter blitz the field, along with Andrew Schofield (23 – Investchem) and Brad Beningfield (37 – Nashua) who took a risk to head out on slick tyres rather than the wet choice made by the rest. It played out in their favour and their reward was to take the podium.

Venter won the day overall, with Van der Watt taking second and Schofield finishing third. Brummer walked away with the championship title with Van der Watt and Venter in second and third. The Investchem Formula Ford internal championship saw Allen Meyer (15) win the category for racers Over 50 and Ladies with Andreas Petrou (17 – Investchem) second and Ian Schofield (8 – Investchem) finishing the year in third spot.

The series sees some changes next season with a refreshed car, the addition of some aerodynamic fittings and a change in more durable tyres which reduces the cost of competition. In addition, the introduction of prize money will add an incentive to racers to push that little bit harder to win the championship – or get close enough that they come into contention for some of the cash.